Skip to content
The Pennyweight

guide · Fine Jewelry

Lab-grown vs natural: what you are actually buying

Two 1.00 ctw lab-grown stud pairs, $899 and $900, both land on $3.46 a wear. One names the laboratory that graded the stones and the other names none — which is the real difference between the six covered brands that sell diamonds.

Imogen HartJewelry & Materials Desk

Published Sep 5, 2026 · 6 min read

Two identical glassine stone parcels side by side, one with a blank paper label and one without.

$899 and $900. Two pairs of stud earrings, both 1.00 carat total weight of lab-grown diamond set in 14k white gold, priced a dollar apart by two different sellers. Worn once a week for five years — 260 wears — both land on $3.46 a wear, from the same tool, to the cent.

They are not the same purchase. Liori Diamonds states that the stones in its $899 basket-set pair are graded D-VS1 by AGI. Fiametta states that the stones in its 3-Prong Martini Studs are D/E colour and VVS+ clarity, and names no grading laboratory anywhere. Two riders: the settings differ, and Fiametta's $900 is a "from" price on a style also made at 2, 3 and 4 carat total weight.

The lab-grown-versus-natural question is usually framed as a choice between two kinds of stone. Across the fifteen brands in our files it is really a question about disclosure. Everything below comes from the brands' own pages as recorded in our brand files on 4–5 September 2026.

What the labels mean

Four labels, and a listing should carry exactly one. A lab-grown diamond is grown in a reactor rather than mined. A natural diamond is mined. Moissanite is silicon carbide — a different material, not a diamond of any kind. A treated stone is any stone altered after cutting, whether natural or lab-grown underneath. Fiametta calls its lab-grown diamonds CVD-grown on solar and wind power — a claim about its supplier, not a finding about the stone in the setting.

What our fifteen brands actually disclose

Six of the fifteen sell diamonds. Grade and grading authority share one cell below: reading either without the other is the mistake this guide exists to prevent.

BrandStone types soldThe grade published, and who issued it
NoémieNatural and lab-grown, stated in the product title, with a selector to switchVS clarity, with an IGI or GIA certificate included
Liori Diamonds802 natural, 357 lab-grown, 195 moissanite, plus treated and fancy-colourD-VS1 on the $899 lab-grown studs, graded by AGI; loose stones carry GIA or IGI
FiamettaAll diamonds lab-grown; the coloured stones natural and minedD/E VVS+ and F+ VS+ — no laboratory named
AMANDA PEARLWhite diamonds lab-grown; coloured stones and Ethiopian opals mined, provenance not statedColour E, clarity VS2 on the Quill Bezel Stud — no laboratory named
BEN"Inset diamonds" — origin never stated either wayNo grade, no carat weight, no laboratory
Gwynn'sKwiat and Marco Bicego; no listing states natural or lab-grown1.01 CTS, GH, VS2-SI1 on the $4,990 Kwiat Riviera necklace — no laboratory named

The two that name a laboratory

Noémie is the only brand here whose catalogue lets you see the difference directly. Stone origin sits in the product title, a Diamond Selector switches between natural and lab-grown on the same design, and an IGI or GIA certificate comes with diamond jewelry. Its Petite Diamond Band Ring runs $520–$720 in 18K gold with VS-clarity natural diamonds. Its "only luxury level stones with Excellent Cut, F-G Color" line is the brand's claim, not a lab's.

Liori names three labs: its certification page says it partners with GIA, AGI and IGI. Which one you get varies by item, and that variation is the point. The $899 studs are AGI-graded; a loose 1.00 carat D-SI1 round brilliant lab-grown diamond at $1,300 is GIA-certified. We read AGI as materially less stringent than GIA, so those two D-grades are not the same statement about colour — reading a diamond report takes that apart in full.

The grade without a laboratory

Three brands publish a grade, a carat weight, or both, with nothing behind them — and a fourth publishes nothing at all.

Fiametta's D/E VVS+ is the sharpest case: near the top of both scales, published on the $900 entry pair, with no lab named. AMANDA PEARL states colour E and clarity VS2 on the Quill Bezel Stud at $585–$600 and names no lab either; its white diamonds are Diamond Foundry lab-grown stones, but some product pages describe stones only as "diamonds" or "ethical diamonds" with no lab-grown qualifier at all.

Gwynn's is the most specific and the least resolved. Kwiat listings state karat, carat weight, colour and clarity — the Riviera necklace at $4,990 is 1.01 CTS, GH, VS2-SI1; the Sirena Huggie Hoops at $5,500 are 0.58 CTS, GH, VS2-SI1 — while whether the stones are natural or lab-grown is not stated, and no laboratory is named. BEN publishes least: "inset diamonds", no origin, no carat weight, no treatment, on a catalogue reaching $6,550.

Treated stones, the category nobody asks about

The lab-versus-natural framing hides a third option. Liori's assortment includes clarity-enhanced or fracture-filled, irradiated, laser-drilled, HPHT and colour-enhanced stones alongside 195 moissanite SKUs, and the four types sometimes sit in one collection. Its cheapest diamond studs — a 0.50ctw basket-set pair in 14k white gold at $499 — are the case in point: the stone type is not recorded in our file, which leaves all four open.

The retailer runs public explainer pages on treatment, more than most do. But its clarity-enhancement page states damage risk only from open heat above 1500C, strong acid, strong alkali or re-cutting, which understates the practical hazard: ordinary jeweller's-torch repair or resizing can damage a fracture-filled stone. That is a care problem rather than a purity one; our ring-sizing guide takes it up.

The comparison we cannot publish

The obvious article here is a like-for-like price on one design in both stone types. We hold no sourced same-design price pair — natural against lab-grown — for any of the fifteen brands, and we publish no delta. Noémie is the only brand selling one design in both configurations, and our file records prices for the natural versions only.

One tempting substitute is worth killing outright. Fiametta's Emerald Solitaire Signet Ring is $4,800 with a lab-grown diamond and $5,600 in a natural Sri Lankan sapphire. The $800 between them is our subtraction, and it is not a lab-versus-natural premium: those are a diamond and a sapphire, different species at different weights.

Resale is not in dispute. Lab-grown stones recover very little, and our Fiametta file holds no secondary-market data at all — so the resale field on our calculator stays at zero throughout.

What to ask before you buy

Ask which laboratory graded the stone, and ask for the report by number. If the grades turn out to be in-house the piece may still be worth buying — but you are paying on the seller's description.

Then ask, in writing, whether the stone is natural, lab-grown, moissanite or treated — and ask about treatment even when the answer is "natural". Fiametta gives seven days to request a return and Gwynn's fifteen, so a slow reply is expensive — the full board of return terms sets that clock.

Stone types, grades, laboratory names, prices and policy terms are drawn from each brand's own pages as recorded in our brand files on 4–5 September 2026. Per-wear figures come from our cost-per-wear tool. Terms change without notice. The Pennyweight buys nothing, accepts no gifted product, and is not affiliated with any brand named here.

33 pieces published

2 brands tracked

42 reader click-throughs