Skip to content
The Pennyweight

verdict · Accessories & Shoes

Is the Nomasei ARIA boot worth $890?

Fifty wears a year for five years puts the $890 ARIA at $3.56 a wear, out of a 40-person family factory in Montopoli, Tuscany. Two to three times that price is $1,780 to $2,670 — our multiplication, not a boot we can source.

June PetrakisClothing, Fit & Resale Desk

Published Sep 5, 2026 · 6 min read

A shoemaker's round knife on a slab of sole leather with offcuts, a steel rule and an edge slicker.

$3.56 a wear. That is the $890 Nomasei ARIA ankle boot worn fifty times a year for five years — 250 wears, roughly a cold-season shoe in regular rotation — as our calculator runs it. Every per-wear figure below was produced by that tool; every price and policy term comes from Nomasei's own pages and product data as recorded in our brand files on 4–5 September 2026.

The question the ARIA is usually asked to answer is how it compares to an Italian-made boot at two or three times the money. Two to three times $890 is $1,780 to $2,670 — our multiplication of Nomasei's own price, not a quote from any boot maker. We hold no sourced price for a comparably-made Italian boot in that band, and this piece does not state one.

What $890 buys

A suede ankle boot made in the village of Montopoli, Tuscany, in a family-run factory founded roughly twenty years ago, now run by the founders' three sons and employing around forty people. Nomasei states it outsources none of the operations on its shoes: leather cutting through to final assembly happens in Tuscany, within a maximum 55km radius of the factory. Design happens in Paris.

Construction is described as an eleven-stage process over hand-crafted lasts, with hand operations at cutting, assembly, heel nailing and finishing. The leathers come from France, Italy and Holland and are tanned in Italy near Montopoli; the brand says it works only with tanneries holding certifications such as REACH or Leather Working Group membership. Read that carefully — those certifications sit at tannery and supplier level, not at brand level, and the broader sustainability language is the brand's own and unquantified.

The ARIA is the house signature, and its defining feature is also its risk: it is built like a sock, with almost no reinforcement at the ankle. Nomasei's own fit guidance says to take half a size down — a note the brand volunteers, and one that exists because the construction makes size error likely.

What it costs

$890 sits in the upper-middle of a legible ladder. Flat sandals run $430 to $650, ballet flats $510, loafers and derbies $650 to $690, pumps $670 to $780, ankle boots $850 to $930, and tall or over-the-knee boots $1,295 to $1,495. Named styles: the FLIP ballet flat at $510, the NONO tricolour moccasin at $650, the GATTACA patent pump at $780, the STRADA ankle boot at $850, the ARIA at $890, the TWIST knee boot at $1,295 and the WHISPER over-the-knee at $1,495. Sale and archive styles start around $270.

The channel matters to the price. Nomasei sells direct — its own site, a Paris showroom and travelling pop-ups — and states it runs a 100% digital, direct-to-consumer model with no wholesale margins. Our file confirms the absence: the brand is not stocked at Net-a-Porter, Moda Operandi, Nordstrom, Saks, Neiman Marcus, Bergdorf Goodman or Shopbop. One verified independent US stockist exists, millie + madge in Woodstock, New York, carrying around 21 styles at $300 to $1,295. Vogue covered the label in 2019 under the headline that this direct-to-consumer shoe brand from two Chloé alums stands out on affordability — verified coverage.

The terms, before any recommendation

Fifteen days from receipt, not thirty. Return shipping is free, and refunds are processed within twenty working days. Then the deductions: 20% is withheld on a return showing slight try-on or wear traces such as scuffed soles or scratched metalwork, and a further 10% if the boot is not repacked in its original box or arrives without its secondary packaging. On the $890 ARIA that is $178, or $267 if the box has gone. The brand's own mitigation is to ask customers to try shoes on carpet.

Sale and archived styles are not refundable at all — store credit only. And on a French brand shipping into the US, one term is simply absent: whether import duties are prepaid or collected on delivery is not stated anywhere on the site. US shipping is free over $460, delivered with signature in one to five working days.

Two more things belong above any recommendation. There is no independent review record for this brand — no Trustpilot profile, no BBB listing, no Sitejabber page — so the only account of how the boots wear is the seller's. And a live "Product Test" item and $49.99 placeholder products render in the public catalogue, so not every listing you see is a real product. Fifteen days is short even by the standards of the brands we cover, where fourteen is the norm and thirty the rare exception — but the deductions are what make it bite.

Against a boot at two to three times the price

At the 250-wear count used above, $1,780 works out at $7.12 a wear and $2,670 at $10.68, which crosses the band boundary into Skip. Those are our multiples of the ARIA's price run through the calculator, and they describe the cost of a premium rather than any actual boot.

The honest comparison is inside the same factory. The WHISPER over-the-knee boot is $1,495 — $5.98 a wear at the same count — and it is cut, assembled and finished in Montopoli by the same forty people, over the same eleven stages, in leather from the same tanneries. That $605 gap buys shaft height and material, not a different standard of make.

What a two-to-three-times price would additionally buy, on this evidence, is not the factory. It is brand, wholesale margin — which Nomasei says it does not carry — retail overhead, and whatever the leather and last are worth above these. We cannot price those components, and neither can anyone quoting a competitor's sticker without the factory behind it.

One depreciation note, without a number: Nomasei appears on The RealReal through resale and consignment only, which is not authorised retail and not a price the brand sets. We hold no resale-recovery figure for this brand, so the resale field on our calculator stays at zero.

The arithmetic

$3.56 at 250 wears is a Buy-on-sale figure — defensible, not obviously so. Keep the boot ten seasons instead of five, 500 wears, and it is $1.78 a wear, which clears the Buy-at-full-price band. A hand-assembled boot with a repair service behind it is the kind of object that reaches a second five years, and Nomasei sells Saphir care products and leather-care kits alongside it.

THE PENNYWEIGHT VERDICT

Buy at full price — on a size you are certain of.

The number is $267. That is 30% of $890, withheld if the boot comes back with a scuffed sole and without its box, inside a fifteen-day window, on a style the brand itself says runs half a size down. Nothing in the arithmetic argues against this boot: $3.56 a wear over five seasons and $1.78 over ten are both defensible figures at this price, and the manufacturing disclosure — a named village, a named headcount, an eleven-stage build — is more than almost any comparable brand publishes.

Full price is also the only tier with a refund behind it, since sale and archived styles return store credit only. If a pop-up or the millie + madge stockist is within reach, settle the size in person. Our full read on the label is in the Nomasei profile.

Prices, manufacturing and materials claims, policy terms, stockists and press citations are drawn from Nomasei's own pages and product data, from the named stockist's listings, and from the named publications, as recorded in our brand files on 4–5 September 2026. Per-wear figures are produced by our own cost-per-wear tool. Terms change without notice. The Pennyweight buys nothing, accepts no gifted product, and is not affiliated with any brand or retailer named here.

33 pieces published

2 brands tracked

42 reader click-throughs